Mercury Prize nominations: Dave, The 1975 and IDLES among 2019 nominees

The nominees for the 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize have been announced, with Slowthai, Dave and The 1975 all up for the title.

At this morning’s nominations ceremony, Slowthai’s Nothing Great About Britain, Cate Le Bon’s Reward and Dave’s number one album Psychodrama were the first to be announced.

Driftglass by Seed Ensemble – a ten piece band led by saxophonist and composer Cassie Kinoshi – was the next to be announced, followed by The 1975’s A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships.

Anna Calvi’s 2018 offering Hunter, Foals’ Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1 and Fontaines DC’s debut album Dogrel are also up for the prize.

And finally, IDLES’ Joy As An Act Of Resistance, Nao’s Saturn, Little Simz’s GREY Area and Black Midi’s Schlagenheim rounded out the nominees.

The nominees were decided by the judging panel made up of Stormzy, Clara Amfo, Annie Mac, Gaz Coombes, Jamie Cullum, Jorja Smith, Danielle Perry of Absolute Radio, Jeff Smith, Kerrang! editor Phil Alexander, Vice’s Tshepo Mokoena, The Times critic Will Hodgkinson and Mike Walsh of Radio X.

Chief executive of BPI Geoff Taylor said: ‘These 12 Albums are essential listening! Our outstanding expert panel has selected the most original, urgent and ambitious British and Irish records of the last twelve months, and I’ll be on tenterhooks with everyone else to find out the final Album of the Year when the judges meet again during the live show on September 19th.

‘We are proud to work with our partners the BBC, Hyundai and Amazon Music to support the Prize and I congratulate all the shortlisted artists on their achievement.’

The Mercury Prize winner announcement will be held on 19 September.

Mercury Prize nominees 2019

Anna Calvi – Hunter

Black Midi – Schlagenheim

Cate Le Bon – Reward

Dave – Psychodrama

Foals – Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1

Fontaines D.C. – Dogrel

IDLES – Joy as an Act of Resistance

Little Simz -Grey Area

NAO – Saturn

SEED Ensemble – Driftglass

slowthai – Nothing Great About Britain

The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships

Nominees can expect a big jump in sales and downloads, as is tradition, with the artists’ sales rocketing after a win.

Last year’s Mercury Prize winner was Wolf Alice and their album Visions Of A Life, with the alt-rock band beating out favourites including Arctic Monkeys, Nadine Shah, Jorja Smith and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

Mercury Prize winners 1992-2018

1992: Primal Scream – Screamadelica
1993: Suede – Suede
1994: M People – Elegant Slumming
1995: Portishead – Dummy
1996: Pulp – Different Class
1997: Roni Size & Represent – New Forms
1998: Gomez – Bring It On
1999: Talvin Singh – Ok
2000: Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast
2001: PJ Harvey – Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea
2002: Ms Dynamite – A Little Deeper
2003: Dizzee Rascal – Boy In Da Corner
2004: Franz Ferdinand – Franz Ferdinand
2005: Antony and the Johnsons – I Am A Bird Now
2006: Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
2007: Klaxons – Myths Of The Near Future
2008: Elbow – The Seldom Seen Kid
2009: Speech Debelle – Speech Therapy
2010: The XX – xx
2011: PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
2012: alt-J – An Awesome Wave
2013: James Blake – Overgrown
2014: Young Fathers – Dead
2015: Benjamin Clementine – At Least For Now
2016: Skepta – Konnichiwa
2017: Sampha – Process
2018: Wolf Alice – Visions Of A Life

In previous years, Sampha (Process), Skepta (Konnichiwa), Benjamin Clementine (At Least For Now), Young Fathers (Dead) and James Blake (Overgrown) have taken home the coveted prize.

PJ Harvey is the only artist to have won the Mercury Prize twice, having won with Let England Shake in 2011 and Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea in 2001.

Radiohead have the most nominations ever with five, having never won, followed by Arctic Monkeys (one win) and PJ Harvey (two) with four in the 27 years the contest has been running.

Got a showbiz story?

If you’ve got a story, video or pictures get in touch with the Entertainment team by emailing us [email protected], calling 020 3615 2145 or by visiting our Submit Stuff page – we’d love to hear from you.

Source: Read Full Article